Building a Statamic Website From Scratch - Part 1 (Background)

Building a Statamic Website From Scratch - Part 1 (Background)

Like a lot of web developers, my own website has been neglected and is long overdue for a complete revamp. It's time to get something up and running that I can be proud of for many years to come.

A little bit of background

For the past 10 years I've used a content management system called concrete5 to build all of my commercial websites. It's not as well-known as WordPress, Joomla, Drupal or Ghost, but I've found it to be a fantastic tool that has served both my clients and me as a developer well.

The problem is that in recent versions, there have been additional layers of complexity added to the software which has me looking back to the market to see what else is available. The search was on.

Coming from a PHP background, it made sense to stick to what I know.

Searching the market

I decided to ask the community on Twitter:

What Content Management System (CMS) do you use for your client websites?

There were a number of options mentioned in the comments, most of which I had tried at one point, or at least was aware of.

But one stuck out more than any other, Statamic.

Initially this was because it was on built on top of Laravel, which is my go to framework for web application development. But after sifting through the official website and documentation for several hours, I was blown away.

Statamic to the rescue

I made a conscious decision there and then that I was going to throw myself into Statamic, using it for my own website and for client websites if all went well.

So in the spirit of self documenting, to help not only my own learning, but anyone else considering Statamic for their CMS of choice, I'm going to share my journey from day 0 and beyond.

If this sounds interesting, then please follow along as I will be posting regular updates.